Skip to content
March 8, 2012 / breathmarketing

Listing References Online

Hello!

Like many of you, I am currently sourcing out the job market to see if I can line something up before I graduate. I don’t want to leave University with no options!

I actively use job boards such as http://www.monster.com , http://www.indeed.com, and http://www.linkedin.com to look for new opportunities. References are extremely important to establish your credibility on these job boards.

I strongly urge you to sign up for these sites if you haven’t already and upload your resume. I personally find Monster to be the most effective.

As for references, I would suggest contacting your references before listing them online. If you talk to your potential reference and discuss why you think you are worth referring you will more often than not get more genuine and effective references for potential clients.

For LinkedIn, I would make sure you have either your peers, professors, or any professional contacts go ahead and leave you a recommendation online. I know these seem like minor details but trust me, it will make a huge difference!

Signing Off,

Bumble Bee

Leave a Reply

